Norris Public Power District

About Norris :: Service Area

The Norris Public Power District proudly serves five counties in southeast Nebraska, excluding the cities of Hebron, Lincoln, Crete, Fairbury and Beatrice. In addition, the District serves the City of Belleville, Kansas.  Below is detailed information about each of these counties and the communities within them that receive service from Norris Public Power District.


Gage County
Beatrice, the largest city in the county, serves as the county seat and is located 40 miles south of Lincoln on a four-lane highway.  The Beatrice Municpal Airport offers two paved runways and can accommodate almost all single, turbo prop and business jets.  The nearest interstate, I-80, and commercial airport are 40 miles north. Gage County is served by Burlington Northern Railroad. Beatrice offers a critical access hospital with 25 beds, six elementary schools, a middle school and a high school. Southeast Community College, a two-year technical school, has a campus in Beatrice. Beatrice is home to 36 manufacturing plants that employ 1,935 people. Gage County has a total of 56 manufacturing plants that employ 2,035 people.

Villages In Gage County served by the Norris District.
Adams | Barneston | Blue Springs | Clatonia | Cortland | Filley | Holmesville | Liberty | Odell | Pickrell | Rockford | Virginia

Jefferson County
Fairbury, the Jefferson County seat, is the largest city in the county. Interstate access to I-80 is within 50 miles and access to a commercial airport is within 65 miles. Fairbury provides railroad access with Union Pacific Railroad but is 127 miles from piggyback service. Fairbury has five elementary schools, one junior high/high school and a community hospital with 25 beds. Manufacturing plants in Fairbury employ 455 people.

Villages in Jefferson County served by the Norris District.
Daykin | Diller | Plymouth | Powell 

Lancaster County
Lincoln, the second largest city in the state, serves as the state capitol and Lancaster county seat. Transportation services including interstate access, railroad access with piggyback ramps and a commercial airport are available. There are 51 elementary schools, eight high schools and six colleges in Lincoln. Seven hospitals are located in Lincoln, offering 1,400 beds. Lincoln has 245 manufacturing plants that employ 15,000 people.

Villages in Lancaster County served by the Norris District.
Agnew | Davey | Denton | Firth | Hallam | Hickman | Holland | Kramer | Malcolm | Martell | Panama | Princeton | Raymond | Roca | Rokeby | Sprague 

Saline County
Crete is the largest city in Saline County, but the town of Wilber serves as the county seat. There is interstate access within 14 miles and commercial airport facilities located within 24 miles. Railroad service is available with Burlington Northern Railroad making stops each day. Crete offers four elementary schools, one junior high school, one high school and one four-year college. There is one hospital with 64 beds, and six manufacturing plants in Crete employ 1,884 people.

Villages in Saline County served by the Norris District.
Pleasant Hill | Swanton | Tobias | Western | Wilber

Thayer County
Hebron is both the largest city and the county seat of Thayer County. Hebron is 48 miles south of I-80 with access at York, Nebraska. There is one elementary, one intermediate and one high school, and a hospital with 14 beds. Hebron has four manufacturing plants that employ 71 people.

Villages in Thayer County served by the Norris District.
Alexandria | Belvidere | Bruning | Byron | Carleton | Hubbell

City of Belleville, Kansas

Norris Public Power District ©2015